Monday, 28 December 2015

Friday, 18 December 2015

Bombay Velvet review

"Fiat chalaane wale ko Mercedes chalaane doge, toh thok hi dega"

Source

"Is it really as bad as you have heard?" Yes. "But you have heard of some Locarno film festival where it was much appreciated"- Right. Then what's the truth? The truth is an irony. And it is an irony that has sunk quite a few films in the past, the most recent being Detective Byomkesh Bakshy. What is this irony? It's the fascination of the director in getting the setting right and in doing so losing the plot line altogether.

Tamasha review

Tamasha or 'How NOT to make a 3 Idiots'


Source: dailymotion


"Why always the same story?" asks the movie poster. Along similar lines, a storyteller in the film connects Ramayan with the Trojan War and tries to draw parallels between stories of the east and that of the west. He believes, and makes our protagonist Ved (later Ranbir Kapoor) believe, that the same story works everywhere. However irresponsible this might be, the director wants to tell us something at this point. But he is unable to do so. He seems too busy in brewing up something cinematic yet artful and woo the audiences that he takes up and drops many interesting motifs throughout the film and relies on cliched story elements to move his film.

Friday, 4 September 2015

Feminism Is Pretty Much Sexism



Note: I’m blogging for the India Today Woman Summit 2015 #WomenPower activity at BlogAdda. That said, I am not going to focus my attention on women that have been really subjugated by patriarchy in the various corners of the country. I am talking about the hardcore feminists here because frankly, these are not women who have themselves undergone the cruelties of child marriage or female illiteracy or female infanticide or the likes for that matter. These are the cause and effect generation of women who are going to shape the future of India. But there are problems with what they believe and what they want. What are these? As a man, or as the rigid feminists like to call us- a sexist hog and a tool of patriarchy, I happen to know them and the differences that give rise to these problems. I am going to tell you about them here. But would you like them?

As a generation today,women have succumbed themselves to the altar of something, the name of which, you don't usually find in dictionaries and that is misandry. Strangely enough, misandry is everywhere-from fiction to films, from news to views, and even in the day to day civic life. It is more of a Cyclops syndrome where only one aspect of the problem is taken into picture and ideologies are woven with rigid obstinacy.

Friday, 21 August 2015

Manjhi movie review

Source: indiaopines.com



All good things come to an end and so it has once again with Manjhi. The ongoing saga of how great an actor Nawazuddin Siddiqui is, has been left exposed to the harsh truth from the very first scene where he falters in delivering a heartfelt cry on the death of his character Manjhi's wife.

Saturday, 8 August 2015

Ship of Theseus review

Source: http://prabhatrayal.com/


If you have seen the Indian version of Ship of Theseus, you would know that it begins with Kiran Rao 'presenting' it. As per her, she did not get her husband, Mr. Aamir Khan, to present it because then a large number of people would have gone to watch the movie and they would have been 'disappointed' by it. Supposedly, the makers and critics seem to believe that 'Ship of Theseus' is for a select audience because it is symbolic and artistic, one that is intellectual enough to see the ideals of self, identity and paradox that the film offers. But, for most part of it, IT'S A SHAM.

Saturday, 1 August 2015

Drishyam (2015) movie review


This is the 50th post on this blog and I feel quite good about the fact that it's a review of 'Drishyam'.


If you haven't already seen the original version of it, then the best thing that you can probably do with your three hours this weekend is to watch 'Drishyam'- Nishant Kamat's Hindi adaptation of an ever so thrilling mystery of the same name. Take my word for it, if you keep yourself on the seat through the first hour without being judgemental about it, you are in for a treat that would light up your day.

Saturday, 30 May 2015

Top 10 Item numbers of Bollywood- An All Time List: Part 1



Raunchy,sensuous, seductive, sizzling- that's what describes an item number. Although they have little to do with the plot of the film,they surely make for a selling point. Hence, we are counting down the top 10 all time Item numbers of Bollywood.

Monday, 25 May 2015

Au Hasard Balthazar review



All cinema isn’t drama. Sometime, someplace, some blessed moment it gives you something so close to reality you feel like witnessing life itself on the screen in front of you. Au Hasard Balthazar is one such saintly film, a blessing in disguise.

Wednesday, 20 May 2015

A Girl in Black review



At its most intimate level, A girl in black is an example of a perfect story, sequential, smooth and logical. Within the first 8 minutes, you get to meet the characters that are going to matter, you get the setting and the plot begins to unfold. A magical yarn keeps all of these intact unless we get introduced to the big conflict and for the rest of it, your heart yearns for the resolution.

Tuesday, 19 May 2015

Early Summer movie review


     


Early summer, the second installment in the Noriko Trilogy by Ozu Yasujiro is a film that simultaneously ventures into heartwarming and heartbreaking situations. Maybe that’s what makes a movie close to reality. Maybe that’s what makes up life.

Wednesday, 13 May 2015

Late Spring (Banshun) review




Simplicity is perfection. Few films in cinema reach the level of being so definitive despite being so discernible. But then, few directors in cinema reach the masterclass of Ozu.

The life of Oharu (Saikaku ichidai onna)




"When you return to your homes, you can tell everyone how you met a real goblin cat." The titular character of the movie tells that to a group of pilgrims who try to gauge the story of her life by raising a candle to look at her face. Oharu is a victim, a survivor of tragedies and vicissitudes that either break a person or make them insensate. But nothing breaks her, as she rises from the ashes of the fires the society sets her on and chooses life over obliteration each time.

Saturday, 9 May 2015

Piku movie review

Source: pbs.twimg.com


There are questions that we choose not to face in our lives and if someone still wants to pose them, they better make them guised enough not to make us take them head on. Piku, almost surprisingly, succeeds in doing just that without any hullabaloo.

Friday, 8 May 2015

Top 10 most iconic moments in Bollywood

Top 10 most iconic moments in Bollywood


Bollywood has always aimed at enthralling its audiences with Cinema that leaves lasting impressions on mindsets and ideologies. At times, it has went passed set norms and came up with moments as iconic as we are about to witness here-

Gabbar is Back review- A war of 'Brands'

Source: gabbarboxofficecollection.in


Salman Khan made Dabangg and changed Bollywood for ever. Something tremendous happened after that- everyone started thinking they could be Salman. Gabbar is Back is another such failed attempt at bringing up a larger than life figure on the celluloid under the guise of a battle against corruption.

Saturday, 25 April 2015

German Embassy brings you another Kal Ho Naa Ho

Although the awesome video per day week is over, I couldn't help sharing this one. Check out as Michael Steiner, German Ambassador to India, and Salman Khurshid, former Foreign Minister of India, team up with Eliese Steiner to re-enact the Kal Ho Naa Ho song. This one is hilarious and true to the core of connecting people through Cinema.




Friday, 24 April 2015

7 Batman quotes that may be defining to 'Batman v Superman'

7 Batman quotes that may be defining to 'Batman v Superman'



Lip Sync Battle with Emma Stone

The final installment in the awesome video per day week. Although this thing hasn't really turned out well for the blog, some people did enjoy the videos. But who cares? If you don't care to spread it, you don't really like it- PEACE.

So this one is pretty awe-inspiring too with Emma Stone in an absolutely crazy avatar of hers. Don't miss this for the world-



Thursday, 23 April 2015

John Cena Prank Call

Fourth video in the 'awesome video per day' week. Now this thing is not getting a whole lot of attention so as I mentioned in the first video, I am going to discontinue posting these after tomorrow. Till then, enjoy the remaining two.

Here is the second last one. It's more of an audio as it's a prank call recording but it's funny as funny can be. Check it out


Wednesday, 22 April 2015

Mime Through Bollywood

Here is the third video in the 'awesome video per day' week. 

So what's so awesome about this is a pretty subjective matter in itself. Still how it captures a sort of journey of Bollywood through years and decades is both nostalgic and fun. Also, the best thing about it is that it starts from a high point and still keeps on going higher without dragging or slacking anywhere, culminating into an all-favourite finale.

Special appeal- For somewhat obvious reasons, it is somewhat viral among boys. So check it out guys.






Tuesday, 21 April 2015

My beautiful woman- A true story of unconditional love

Here is the second installment of the 'awesome video per day' week. Though this one is more on the sentimental side, it certainly strikes a chord. A long one but it does pay off.





Monday, 20 April 2015

Will Ferrell faces the heat: The Landlord

Today onwards, we are starting an awesome video per day week. If this turns out to be good this week and gets a good enough response, I will continue to post such videos for upcoming weeks too.

So for the worst day of the week, here is the best video of the lot.
Introducing the only person ever to beat Will Ferrell at his own game. You will die laughing (figuratively that is :p ).



Saturday, 18 April 2015

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice - Official Teaser Trailer

So this here is not a leaked Cam print but the real deal- ‪#‎BatmanvSuperman‬: Dawn of Justice trailer (Original)

It seems good luck is smiling on all cinephiles these days. First the epic Star-Wars trailer and then this- Batman vs Superman Dawn of Justice trailer, first a leaked cam print and then the original. Check out the awesomeness of a dangerous Superman, Alfred Pennyworth's voice and Batman (because he is Batman).





Some pointers-

  • Something tells me Ben Affleck is going to be one hell of a Batman...not that anybody was happy with this casting but with this trailer, it seems he might pull it convincingly enough to make fans of a newer, darker Batman.
  • Also the movie should have been this dark because that's what really adds to the value of superhero films these days...even the unthinking avengers is coming up with darker shades with Age of Ultron.

Friday, 17 April 2015

Batman vs Superman Dawn of Justice trailer

It seems good luck is smiling on all cinephiles these days. First the epic Star-Wars trailer and then this- Batman vs Superman Dawn of Justice trailer, although a leaked cam print is out. Check out the awesomeness of a dangerous Superman, Alfred Pennyworth's voice and Batman (because he is Batman).

Update: This here is the original trailer. The Cam print was removed on grounds of Copyrights infringement.



Star Wars: Episode VII - The Force Awakens Trailer

It's here people- the greatest movie franchise to ever grace Cinema comes up with another episode after a whole decade. And it is plain awesome. Watch the trailer here :





Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Tanu Weds Manu Returns trailer review

Tanu Weds Manu Returns trailer review 

Source: blog.simplymarry.com/


So the wait is finally over. Eros Now has come up with the official trailer of Tanu Weds Manu Returns and it appears the film is going to be another adrenaline pumping adventure on the lines of the first one.





What appears from the trailer is how Manu (Madhavan) has turned unromantic towards Tanu (Kangana) and how she is bent on pulling a game through a Haryanvi avatar of hers to bring back that pepper in their relationship. Also, we are sure to get those elements of a U.P.- Punjab-Haryana set-up to bring about the rustic wild sides of the movie, especially that of Kangana and Awasthi (Jimmy Shergil). 

On the not so bright side of it, the movie, like many movies for which a sequal was not originally intended, seems to build too much on the same story-line and formula as the first one, with a different version of Kangana in it. There is going to be the same love-crisis for Manu, it will get kickass in the middle and finally, we will get an obligatory Manu monologue that will bring seriousness to the movie. However, there is no way anyone should dare to miss it, given that glimpse of Kusum's character and how Kangana delivers that "Main thari lagai na su" dialogue which has epic written all over it.

Bandwidth Verdict: After Tanu weds Manu and Queen, Kangana is back with another masterclass performance that will get you rolling for all its runtime. Maybe the end wouldn't be any good, but the journey will sureby be worthwhile.                                                                                                        

Saturday, 11 April 2015

Ramdhanu (The Rainbow)

Source: bengalimovies.in




Has it come to this? Or has it always been this way in big cities? I remember my admission procedure and it was plainly based on whether the student can interact at all. I even remember saying 'फूल ' in-front of the Principal when he asked me what a flower was. Guess things have changed a whole lot since then, for better or worse.

Friday, 10 April 2015

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night



The gender feminine is so fair that it knows how to find the good in the bad and to make us block-out everything that's unethical, leaving visible an innocent yet powerful life-force. Ana Lily Amirpour's "A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night" is an example of how classy a situation of sheer-conflict can look on the screen and how those conflicting situations can be resolved with just the right amount of letting go.

Wednesday, 8 April 2015

In the Mood for Love ("Fa yeung nin wa")

In the Mood for Love- A work of art married with reality.



Source: pbs.twimg.com


"an age of blossom
affectionate as the moon

bright as the snow
splendid is living"


There are times when a film makes you question the superiority of morality over happiness. There are times when a film leaves you in awe of the things that the most powerful form of art has carved on the screen before you. And then there are films that justify each and every shot you went through with close attention to detail for the 100 minutes you sat watching it.  "In the mood for love" offers you all of these and more.

Saturday, 4 April 2015

Detective Byomkesh Bakshy

Source: timesofweb.com




"The idea is big, the execution small. The villain is a hero, the hero a mouthpiece. "


'Detective Byomkesh Bakshy' is a film that was meant to be a great work of art right from the war-torn Calcutta of the 1943 to the bigger concepts that evolve as the detective solves the mystery behind a missing person. What held back the film was that too much attention was payed to get the setting right and in doing so, the makers did away with what actually holds people for 2 hours in a film.

The only thing to like about our hero detective is that he is not a modern day Sherlock Holmes. He is just like any other human, with feelings and mannerism, and is simply 'ahead of the curve' in order to be able to solve the mystery at hand. When the case of someone's missing father is brought to him, he loosely gives a list of 4 options predicting the person's fate and is done with it. At everything else, he is a fail. Sushant Singh Rajput is an overhyped actor. He can't act out even the good dialogues that the script gives to his character. What got him this film is a mystery Sherlock can't solve. I say this because he ruins any tension that the film is able to create. It seems he is just put there to be a mouthpiece for a hidden narrator of the film. And what more, he is a plot tool to provide exposition at every moment preventing you from thinking anything on your own.

All this being said, the setting of the film is plain classy. The costumes, the sets, the old tram on the streets of Calcutta and the vintage cars on the circles are all a buildup for a movie that should have delivered a lot but doesn't. Also, the film is based largely on dialogue and still Dibakar Banerjee has done a good work as a director. It is dark Yes but what actually carries a dark detective film is an exposition free narrative or a charismatic hero. Sadly, we get none. But what we do get is an awesome villain and an awe-inspiring female lead in the form of Anguri Devi played by Swastika Mukherjee. That however is all that the movie offers.

Bandwidth Verdict: Take back Rajput and his expository mouthpiece and the movie will rock. But its too late for that. One time watch if you have nothing else to do.                                                          

Friday, 3 April 2015

Top 11 fanboy movie franchises of the millennium

Top 11 fanboy movie franchises of the millennium


Source: 1.bp.blogspot.com/


Some films develop fan-bases not necessarily because they are good but also through their marketing finesses, timing of release and structure aimed at target audiences. They aren't really bad but not much good too. Hence today we are counting down film franchises of the present millennium that owe their success to fan-boys and nerds (and also the above factors). The ranks are based on a combination of popularity, quality and gross earnings.

NOTE:

  • Star Wars prequels are not part of this list because they are but prequels and in line with the original trilogy. Star Trek is a part because it is a reboot.
  • Harry Potter series is also not included because, for most of them, they were thematically superior to these and part of the thoughtful cinema.
  • The Dark Knight and Lord of the rings trilogies are way too superior in every way and hence they too are excluded. That's because they really are part of serious and intelligent cinema unlike those that are part of this list


#11- Fantastic Four:


Source: pagetopremiere.com

Taken that superhero films are not really supposed to be thoughtful and intelligent but this franchise crossed lines with all aspects of movie making. Still, $600 million it is.




#10- Transformers:


Source: bea-electrics.com


The first one was fine, but what followed was an endless waste of footage rutted with explosions, noise, rattling and Shia LaBeouf's stuttering. Some films lay waste to the incredible gift of CGI to cinema. But Hey! $3.7 Billion it is.




#9-Hulk


Source: farm4.static.flickr.com

What a justified theme can do to a Comic book movie is exemplified by 'Hulk'. What happens when ultimate power becomes a curse? What are the consequences of meddling with the powers of the nature and what is the folly of the human race with its mad ego of overcoming it? Hulk answered all this with a subtlety we liked and a hero we loved.



#8- Star trek:


Source: 1.bp.blogspot.com
With a pre-established fan following, Star Trek reboot was good for what it was. Although it did not try anything different and played along the lines of the tested formula, the reboot proved to be effective enough in displaying the space opera with sound and visual effects far superior than its previous times. We knew the tour spots, but we loved the ride.




#7-Fast and the furious:




With 7 films now, this franchise has had only one formula: furious people driving fast cars. Set in a world without any rules, the franchise produces speedy car chases to drool over and doesn't really get serious until Fast-6 with Dwayne Johnson. As long as money comes, it will keep refuelling them.

#6- X-Men:


Source: hdn1.sciencefiction.com
Forget 'The Last Stand'. Here was one franchise that first proved how comic-book films can be totally cool and awesome. Thanks to some pretty good actors in the cast and a pillar in the form of Hugh Jackman as Wolverine, the X-Men has gone a long way from the present to prequel to present to prequel and finally the future-prequel- all but one awesome to watch.



#5- Captain America:


Source: pmcdeadline2
Although lower in popularity than Iron man, Captain America: The Winter Soldier marked the highest point of Marvel films in terms of quality. For once, Captain America provided refuge from the unthinking noisiness of the comic film genre. In the attempt of spurting out one movie after another in order to launch 'The Avengers' , Marvels finally took a seat back and focussed on the story and dimensions of the movie. The result of this was super-awesome.


#4-Pirates of the Caribbean:

 
Source: pichost.me



Good actors can make for a film even in the dirt and filth of strange seas. As often the case, the first one was classy, with a definite story-line and character development. Then they got over-confident and threw in hoards of people with Johnny Depp at the centre to sail them to the shores. Depp however was competent enough to do so and the trilogy (#4 was something else for me) was a successful and cool story.



#3-The Avengers:


Source: fullmovie2k.com
It was fun. It was kickass. And it was simple. When you try to depict a potential danger to the whole world but are centered only on Manhattan, it shows an inherent inability of direction and the understanding of trying to make up with what you have got. With cliches and banal subjects to hold the film in place, The Avengers actually succeeded in covering up for them with an explosive finale. What's more in the house would be known with the upcoming sequal.


#2-Iron man:


Source: hdmarvelwallpaper.com
The First was plain awesome, the second was as bad as any and the third was just Okay. The major reason why it is at such a high spot is because of the perception that Iron man's character has created in the minds of the people and because of the excellence of the first movie. It was a comeback by Robert Downey Jr. like few have given, although he did not care to act good after that, but for the fans, once was good enough. 


#1- Spider Man: 


Source: images1.fanpop.com


And I am talking about the Sam Raimi-Tobey Maguire trilogy only. The love and care for the super-heroes that the comics drove were recreated in the real sense by this awe-inspiring franchise and the second film in the series was simply the cherry on the cake. Although it went a bit astray in the third, it made up for it in the climax resulting in a trilogy that was fantastic yet close to heart.




Bandwidth Verdict: It is debatable what kind of films should be the real goal of Cinema. Still, if it is naive but harmless and some fun, it is worth the watch. Right?                                                           

Thursday, 2 April 2015

Top 21 movie quotes of all time

Top 21 movie quotes of all time





The subjectivity of this list makes it too tough to be appreciated by those who look at it. This is because a single line or two can and cannot leave a lasting impression in your mind based on how you perceive it. Also, while few quotes maybe quite memorable to some, to others they maybe plain as any. Hence, here we are going to look at some movie quotes that either tell us something of paramount importance to the film or the character or those that are simply iconic enough to be here- 


#21- V for Vendetta: 

"Ideas are bulletproof"

Source: Tumblr

Part of a longer quote as awesome as this - "Beneath this mask there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask there is an idea, Mr. Creedy, and ideas are bulletproof"- these three words define all that the film stands for. That's what a good quote is supposed to do right?


#20- La Dolce Vita

"You're the first woman of creation. You're mother, sister, lover, friend, an angel, a devil, the earth, the home."


What do you get when a womanizing journalist in search of love and happiness tries to woo a famous actress? You get the above line. 


#19- Wall Street

"Greed, for lack of a better word, is good"


Source: Tumblr

When Gordon Gekko talked about the only thing he thinks will take the business at hand as well as the entire USA out of crisis, this quote, along with its dashing monologue, became a classic.


#18- Amelie-  

"Without you, today's emotions would be the scurf of yesterday's"



Amelie was a film like nothing anyone had seen before and the only struggle I went through while its first viewing was to put it into a definite genre. But when this line came through, I gave up trying.


#17- The secret in their eyes: 

"You said life"



It's a climax defining line that gives shape to the entire movie and meaning to why you actually went through 129 minutes to see it.




#16-  The Good, the bad and the ugly": 

"You see, in this world there's two kinds of people, my friend: Those with loaded guns and those who dig. You dig."

Source: YouTube

With many such two kinds of men analogies, the two leads try to out-do each other throughout the film. But this one from 'the man with no name' steals the show.





#15- Mughal-e-Azam: 

"Saleem tumhe marne nahi dega; aur hum Anarkali tumhe jeene nahi denge" 
(Salim will not let you die, And I shall not let you live, Anarkali)



Quite inarguably, the film with the best dialogues in Indian cinema featured this timeless classic that is still talked about everywhere, even after 55 years of the film.


#14- The Shining: 

"Here's Johnny......."

Source: Tumblr

There are few things better than an improvised dialogue. Jack Nicholson impromptu took this pop-culture slang and used it to create, what could be the most frightening scene in a horror flick ever.


#13- Dirty Harry

"You've got to ask yourself one question: 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, punk?"



Dirty, greasy and cold. That's how Clint Eastwood delivered this gut wrenching line to the guy on the other side of the Magnum.44.  Rest is history.



#12-  The Usual Suspects: 

"The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist"

Souce: Epic Movie Dialogues (Facebook page)

There are quotes that don't require an exposition. This is one of them. Agree?


#11-  Apocalypse Now

"I love the smell of napalm in the morning"


Souce: Tumblr


Apocalypse Now is the greatest war film ever and while Marlon Brando was booked to show the 'horror' Vietnam has brought unto people, this line by Robert Duvall predefined the whole context of the movie.


#10- Tokyo Story:

"Isn't life disappointing? - Yes, it is".

Source; Tumblr

A common reality? But when Noriko delivers this reply with the above smile, it makes for a movie moment truer than any you would find.


#9-  Deewar(1975):  

"Mere paas Maa hai." 
(I have my mother)

Source: NDTV

Jam packed with iconic dialogues one after the other, this one from Shashi Kapoor steals the spotlight from Amitabh Bachchan as he firmly asserts the value of his choice of life.


#8- Star Wars: 

"May the force be with you"

Source: giphy

After all, what's more famous than the best line of the greatest film franchise ever ?



#7- On the Waterfront

"You don't understand! I coulda had class. I coulda been a contender. I could've been somebody, instead of a bum, which is what I am."


Source:  meetup.com

The whole film, Terry Malloy remains impervious to any person or feeling. But when he finally breaks down after his brother, this line explains more to us about his life than we would ever know.


#6- Taxi Driver

"You talkin' to me?"

Source: Tumblr

Funny and serious at the same time, this line, probably this whole sequence captures the inner twistedness of Travis's character and gives a fairly good idea of his lonely, dull, insipid life. Talking with a mirror image was never this ripping.


#5-  Sunset Boulevard

"I am big! It's the pictures that got small."




The 40s Hollywood knew how to capture the psych of a character and portray it just enough to the audiences without giving too much away. This here, might be the greatest example of it.


#4- Casablanca

"We'll always have Paris".

Source: Examiner.com


When the no-nonsense Rick Blaine says those words to the love of his life, it brings about notions of tenderness, love ,care and sacrifice altogether to the initially badass character of his. Nothing spoken to a parting woman was ever so awesome.



#3- Gone with the wind

"Frankly, my dear, I don't give a damn."

Source: Tumblr
Clark Gable was so charismatic that when he said this line quite out his character at that point, we instantly believed that if he says so, he surely doesn't give a damn.


#2- The Matrix- 

"My name is Neo".



Yes, you can come to me personally and give me a tight beating if you don't like this quote at such a high spot. But for me, if there is any movie line I would ever get a tattoo of, it would be this. 



" Why do fireflies have to die so soon?"


Nothing in cinema is more emotionally charged than this line for me and you would agree too if you have seen this film. (Read Review)


Bandwidth Verdict: Although we have only talked about quotes here, all movies in the list are equally iconic so that leaving any of them unwatched would be a sin.                                                

Share the poison

Choose your poison

Flash Labels by Blogger Widgets